USC News: 3 Former Trojans Nominated To College Football Hall Of Fame

The College Football Hall of Fame has announced it’s candidates for the 2021 ballot this morning. It lists 78 players and 7 coaches from different FBS (Football Bowl Subdivision) schools. The list also has 99 players and 33 coaches from the divisional ranks as well.

Among the list of nominees are three former USC players that could possibly make the HOF. Headlined by former Trojans QB Carson Palmer, followed by offensive guard Jeff Bregel, and linebacker Jack Del Rio seems as if USC is stacked on the ballot.

Heisman Trophy Winner — Carson Palmer, 2002 – USC Athletics

Carson Palmer was a QB with the Trojans from 1998 to 2002 before hitting the NFL. During his senior season as a Trojan, he won the Heisman Trophy. Palmer became the 5th player and 1st quarterback in USC history to win the prestigious award. In the same year, he was named as a First Team All-American player and 2002 Pac-10 Co-Offensive Player of the Year who set conference/school career records for total offense (11,621 yds) and passing yards (11,818). Palmer led USC to a share of the 2002 Pac-12 Title and first 11-win game season for the Trojans since 1979.

Next on the ballot is former USC offensive guard Jeff Bregel who was a 4-year starter for the Trojans. Bregel is a 2-time consensus First Team All-American and a 1986 NFF National Scholar-Athlete. He’s also a two-time First Team All-Pac-10 selection, leading USC to the 1984 conference title and a Rose Bowl victory. Bregel was awarded the 1985 Morris Trophy as the league’s most outstanding offensive lineman.

USC Trojans offensive lineman Jack Del Rio.

Last but not least, is former USC offensive guard Jack Del Rio. Del Rio was a four-year starter, as a junior, he made the third-team 1983 All-America team. As a senior, Del Rio earned consensus All-American honors, was a runner-up for the Lombardi Award which is given to the nation’s best lineman or linebacker and was named along with QB Tim Green co-MVP of the Rose Bowl. He finished his college career with 340 tackles, including 58 tackles for loss. Del Rio was also voted on the Second-team All-Pac in 1984 team.

The 2021 College Football Hall of Fame Class will be announced in early 2021.

The 2021 College Football Hall of Fame Class will be officially inducted during the 64th NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 7, 2021, at the New York Hilton Midtown. They will also be honored at their respective schools with an NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salute, presented by Fidelity Investments, during the 2021 season.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Ad Blocker Detected!